Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Modelling problems in EPANET

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tait

Civil/Environmental
Aug 17, 2015
CA
Hi all,

I am very new to EPANET, and have recently been tasked with modelling an existing water supply network of a Municipal District. The town currently operates through one water treatment plant, where water is pumped from a well throughout the town in a pressurised system. 6 pumps are currently operational and are each designed to begin pumping when system demand reaches a particular level.

I have designed the network and applied controls for the pumping arrangements, but my analysis has consistently been returning errors despite many adjustments. In particular, my pumps are not turning on and performing when I would like. The results in my network tables seem to show fairly appropriate values, but it seems that at the start of each hour, or change in pattern, the pumps either can't deliver the required initial head, or exceed maximum flow. At a lower accuracy in my analysis, the system is also unbalanced at each hour.

I was wondering whether anyone could be of any assistance?

Thanks for the time and consideration,

Tait.

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=ebfd57a9-8970-46dc-9efc-0670708b47c5&file=Pipe-network-1.NET
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have found rule based controls to be tricky
each command needs to be checked for correct control
have you got the model to work as a simple network first?

Taking a look at your model I see all the elevations I see are at zero. Is the town truly flat?