Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Modulus of Subgrade Reaction (k) 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScarpShooter

Geotechnical
Apr 9, 2015
US
As a geotechnical engineer, I've always been dissatisfied with the way the topic of modulus of subgrade reaction is addressed in geotechnical textbooks and figured I would look to this forum to help clarify some concepts in my mind and hopefully the minds of others.

Firstly, after reading many threads, I now understand that this parameter is a second order problem with interdependence of both the structural system and geotechnical conditions. Asking the question, what is the k-value used for, I am guessing that it is used by the structural engineer to evaluate the deformed shape and resultant stresses in a concrete slab subject to a given load. The structural can then use this value to dimension reinforcement to keep stress levels/deflections within a safe/serviceable range. I'm also guessing that this analysis is somewhat iterative as the amount of reinforcement would influence the slab's structural stiffness and deflection under load. The soil's role in the problem is that depending on how the soil deforms in response to the stress (its stiffness represented by the parameter k) a different portion of the underside of the slab will be supported and influence the reaction force acting on the bottom of the slab.