Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Most mathematical field in Engineering? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gman89

Mechanical
May 5, 2011
AU
Throughout my brief professional career so far as a mechanical engineer I've noticed that a lot of what gets done seems to be based purely on experience and the notion of "I know this is the best answer because it just is". I then find myself doing the same thing with tasks suitable to my small experience. Work to some extent becomes a mindless process where most thought and energy goes towards either thinking how to write a report (which is fine, I guess), communicating with clients or superiors or using some software via a black box (which is not fine).

The one thing I miss about uni is the application of theory to problems, now I find anything that is fundamental enough to be solved by theory has probably just been scripted and makes me feel intellectually dissatisfied. I take charge of some small jobs that have just become a routine use of scripts and software and no real difficult analysis.

What I would like to know is which field in engineering would you say requires the most mathematical analysis on a day to day basis to the extent that experience alone won't guarantee an answer? I'm thinking maybe some form of signal processing at the moment but I say that with hesitation, too.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

When was the last time you did a fuel injector, or carburetor, rebuild?