Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

multiconductor cable problem (stray capacitance)

Status
Not open for further replies.

moonlite

Bioengineer
Mar 2, 2006
US
Hi Everyone... I'm a bioengineering graduate (still looking for a job). Anyways I'm trying to connect a slowly varying small amplitude signal from a sensor to an amplifier using a two conductor cable. I have to use the other wire in the cable too.. I have 2 options.
1. Connect a power line (60 Hz, 120 V RMS)
2. 0 to + 5 V sinusoid with f=100 MHz

Which one would be a better option? (considering stray capacitances)...Would I have to consider any other effects?

Thanks for the help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Another option would be to install the amplifier directly adjacent to the sensor. For low level signals it is a very common approach.

To start towards answering your question:

Why 100 MHz? Where does the 100 MHz come from? Is that a power supply (asking because the 60Hz 120V seems to be...).

Although 100 MHz would probably couple much more from wire to wire than 60 Hz, it might be cleaner and (being higher frequency) easier to filter out. It depends.

the 100Mhz signal is a digital signal originating from a computer. I figured it would be a good approximation for coupling to say that its a sinusoid.

I took just 1 class on instrumentation 2 years ago, and can't remember much... I only remember reading a couple of paragraphs on stray capacitance... (i'm a biochemical engineer) The design is too complicated to explain here... But the only option I got is to use the cable to carry two signals...One is fixed, and the other, I can either use the power line or the digital signal.... It would be great if you could explain why...