Not open for further replies.

Rocketman41

Mechanical
Jan 15, 2024
US
Conditions:
Impervious fabric pre-tensioned at (T pli) and over a vacuum slot (L in) wide
NEED:
Def(h) as a function of Slot width (L), Vacuum (V ), and pre-tension (P).
Note: I am familiar with the beam equations below but, none of them apply. see diagram below.

** h=5PL^4/(384*EI)
** R=(h^2+(L/2)^2)/2h
Angle of deflection the fabric (beam) makes = pressure1*slotwidth^3/(24*E*I)
accel_at_slot_snatit_r9koid.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Additional information re: my posting on fabric deflection.
I am a retired mechanical engineer. I'm writing a technical article that requires the equation.
I have searched Google and many other web sites but have not been able the find an appropriate equation for the conditions explained. I think it will need to be developed from scratch.
I will certainly give credit in the published article to the person that developes the required equation.

Thanks in advance

The radius is likely to be the same as for a uniform cylinder that has the given pressure difference and the related tension.

As the radius of a uniform cylinder goes up the tension for a given pressure difference goes up so to keep deflection lower the tension in the fabric needs to be higher.

The end conditions that seal off the slot will affect the longitudinal strain as well.

If one needs to add fabric strain I see over 250 pages of research into measuring that:

one method with some (possibly questionable) logic is to equate the change in length of an arc to the change in length due to membrane stress from pressure ...

original length is W
arc length is 2*R*theta, where sin(theta) = W/(2R)
so change in length = 2R*theta-W (assuming the material doesn't side into the gap, yes?)

membrane stress = pR/t
membrane strain = pR/(tE) ... E = ?
change in length = pRW/(tE)

Not sure how to account for your pre-tension.

"Hoffen wir mal, dass alles gut geht !"