Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need guidance 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abdullahkhan2023

Mechanical
Mar 30, 2023
PK
Hello ...hope you all will be doing great...I'm here looking for your help...basically I'm a mechanical engineer fresh graduated...I got my first job...and my company now wants me to repair an emboss stamping machine...as you know I'm a fresh graduate so I don't have those skills level...and there is no other engineer in this industry ...what should I do now?? Please help me....

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In solving any engineering problem - what is step ONE?
DEFINE THE PROBLEM.

From what I've seen you haven't yet done that, at least not on this forum. "Repair an emboss stamping machine" could mean almost anything. Mechanical, electrical? Repair what? Some damage? Exactly what damage? Or is the problem just worn parts? What parts? Worn how? I could keep going...

Get the idea? You can't solve a problem until you have clearly defined every detail of it. In many cases, simply defining the problem well enough will get you very close to your solution(s).

Then start looking for possible solutions and alternatives. In short - as I've heard SO MANY times in my career - "You're the engineer. Figure it out."

Is it plugged in?

I'd identify the make and model of the saw, and look online and contact the manufacturer for parts diagrams, parts lists, and an owner's manual and a service manual.

I'd be asking the operators about how the machine has been running, and locate the service history.

I'm not sure the guy on the night shift will admit he was embossing rupees as gifts for his nephew's shaadi.