Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help solving Pressure vessel problem 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greyfalcon

Mechanical
Aug 15, 2022
IN
Hello

I am a complete novice in pressure vessel calculation and I have to solve this problem given to me using whatever resources I can find on the internet. Now I spent last 2 days reading and watching various tutorials but I am still not able to solve the problem with the given data in the problem.
Given data:-
Content - CO2
Internal Pressure - 500 bar
ID - 500mm
Volume - 125 liters
Vessel Material - ss304
desired height - 5 to 7 feet

Every tutorial I found needed Temperature in order to find wall thickness and without finding wall thickness I cannot proceed any further. So can anyone please tell me how to find the temperature or whether I need to proceed without it somehow assuming some things.

Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well temperature is no different to all the other data inputs you've listed so go back to wherever they came from and either look closer or ask whoever gave you that data to add the temp one.

There is no answer to find here. Temperature is an input from the desired process.

This could be -50C or 1000C. No one knows except you.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

I don't think your dimensions match your capacity.
You don't actually say what problem it is you're solving, either.
I note that design code, joint efficiency, corrosion allowance are not shown.

And 5 HUNDRED BAR is one hell of a pressure (7,250 psi). That's really quite unusual.