Need help to Land my first entry level Electrical Engineer job

Status
Not open for further replies.

justgraduated

Electrical
Feb 1, 2007
CA
Hi Everybody,

I am new to the group and from what I have been reading so far this is an awesome forum. I can only wish I found it sooner.

Now my case:

I am a recent canadian graduate in electrical engineering (BASc) with no practical engineering experience. Graduated in october 2006 moved to toronto, had 3 interviews so far but no job. I believe I'm living proof of catch 22 ....no experience no job.. no job no experience. Daily activity for past three months == resumes and coverletters and some part-time work to pay the bills. I need help, I really love electrical engineering but without experience life's tough. I am very open to relocation if I can get a job quickly.

I have applied for licensing and requested to be registered in the EIT program. I am considering moving to Alberta but I do not know anyone out there. I welcome any help or advice I can get.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not knowing your academic performance or the job situation, it's a bit difficult to come up with a meaningful assessment.

October is an odd time to graduate, so is there some problem with your academic history?

Is the job market too tight?

Are you applying for the right jobs?

TTFN

Thanks for replying everybody.

I believe the market is tight however some of my classmates with coop experience have had jobs.

Before leaving school, I had my resume reviewed by my university placement office and actually I still keep in touch with my university placement office. I check their website for job leads. My school had some job fairs in the last year however I got no calls back from potential employers despite numerous follow ups.