Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

No engine temperature guage on new UK Fords 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

john66b

Automotive
Feb 20, 2013
GB
My latest Ford has no temperature gauge, although an over temperature warning light is present. I was annoyed to find a cheaper model than mine had a bargraph type display, rather than a separate analogue type gauge, built into an led array on the instrument cluster.
I am an ex-services automotive professional, and all my experience is pre-ECU technology, although I have hands-on experience of a VAG analyser and computers/electronics in general. My question is, do they change wiring design, or instrument cluster design just to save a few pennies, or is it possible that the LED element is present, though unused on my vehicle, Ford B Max, and could perhaps be enabled with a software modification or diagnostic tools?

Thanks, John.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I doubt there are any unused LEDs installed.
Here in The Colonies, Ford is (in)famous for using mechanical semaphores, that look like real gages, but actually function more like indicator lights. The 1-bit sensors are cheaper.

However, help is available. Adapters exist that plug into the vehicle's bus, and display as many gages as you could imagine, on an iPad. Probably cheaper than a real gage array of decent quality, if you get a decent price on the iPad, and easier to install.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

"do they change wiring design, or instrument cluster design just to save a few pennies"

Yes. There are many costs associated with having multiple designs for a given subsystem, which are documented, so we can figure out whether a given cost save is worth going for. I doubt we'd bother for 'a few' pennies.

More likely the high series cluster is almost a whole new part, so the cost save from leaving the gage off is part of the new design.