NR Compounds for Latex Tubing 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christopher F

Materials
Feb 28, 2018
GB
Greetings, rubber gods.

Firstly, with risk of getting auto-banned before I even get to "Hello"... Apologies as I may have ignored the sign-up requirements of being directly involved in engineering. I'm a hobbyist come minor-retailer with minimal knowledge of engineering. I can make a Lego model great though, so that's something I guess. Plus, you're the only active rubber engineering forum I could find. And Coruba sales reps are driving me nuts. [censored]

Anyway, I'm currently attempting to have some small rubber parts manufactured, with material mirroring that of standard extruded latex tubing. You know the type; NR, stretchy, medical/slingshot/spearfishing use. I'm not too fussy on properties, mainly just hardness, and to a degree the elasticity. Any "latex tubing" will do, so any similar material will do.

My technical knowledge stretches as far as the correct material being Natural Rubber (NR), usually of varying grades (SVR-3L, RSS1-5, whatever), and Shore A 35+/-5 hardness (generally though, mostly 40A). Which was enough for me to class it as simply generic NR material, bar one small issue....

Most, if not all latex tubing, floats. And, from my limited knowlege, standard NR does not. Which means "latex tubing" isn't standard NR, may have additional chemicals, may have been mixed with BR (Butadine), etc. And this may or may not affect the one or two minor properties that are actually important to me (namely, elasticity). So now I'm attempting to figure out if there's any real difference between NR "latex tubing" and generic NR compounds that will have any major affect on the handful of properties I'm interested in.