Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nylatron Bushing problem on a Vintage Thorens Turntable 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

heyraz

Chemical
Feb 19, 2017
US
Greetings Guys,
I'm not an engineer by trade, I'm a pharmacist.
I've been having a problem with the Nylatron Bushings on my turntable (Thorens TD124 early version) that I haven't been able to resolve using the usual DIY and Audio forums. They don't seem to have the expertise, I thought it might be better to talk with a materials engineer.

The problem is that after one hour of spinning, the nylatron bushings begin to expand, decreasing the I.D. and eventually seize the platter spindle. I'm aware H2O will swell nylatron, but I don't think that's the main issue as the spindle continues to turn for nearly two minutes after shutdown when cold. Certainly there is friction generating heat, and I'm aware of Nylatron's great coefficient of expansion when heated.
I contacted a company that specializes in repairing Turntables with this issue (those fitted with Nylatron Bushings) and their recommendation was to replace them with Sintered Bronze bushings. Before I go that route I'd like to explore other options.