Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

O Seal fitting compaatibility?

Status
Not open for further replies.

subsearobot

Mechanical
Jan 19, 2007
US
We are looking at using Brennan fittings for a mobile system. Our manifolds are ported with ORB type cavities (SAE J1926).

Where we use male orb fittings (Swagelok P/N ss-400-1-4st for example) the Brennan crossover reference suggests using an O-Seal fitting (N6400-04-04-O).

Will O-seal be an acceptable substitution considering the chamfer that is cut for an ORB port? I have no experience with O-seal.

thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't think they are interchangeable. The O-seal requires a full flat face for the o-ring to seal. The SAE straight thread o-ring boss does not have enough surface due to the chamfered recess.
If the O-seal o-ring is fully contained in the fitting and the groove ID covers the chamfer in the SAE port, then it could work. The O-seal also depends on the quality of the spotface surface of the SAE port which is not normally made with a seal-quality finish.
I would not risk it without testing.

Ted

I try to check SAE J1926 from net, and Ted is right about the shape of the surface, however it will depend on the mating surface of your assembly. I mean if mating surface is a flat surface, this may solve your question.

please note that when o-rings are used in such assemblies results usually problematic. not to let any problems I would recommend you to take into account:
- Environmental conditions (o-ring material may react with the env.)
- Make sure that o-ring chamfer is appropriate (specs are available for such issues) you may check NASA site and search for it.

Here is the brennan suggested equivalent:

to the Swagelok the OP is using: