Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Organizing files 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdxx139

Mechanical
Sep 19, 2009
US
Any suggestions on how to organize excel calculations? I am an HVAC engineer and try to make as many as I can, but have trouble reusing them on future projects, like a template. It seems every job, I start from scratch. I do computer calcs to get organized and be faster, save budget and make more money, but it doesn't seem to be working.

Looking to get into VBA for better efficiency, and considering using Access to somehow connect everything togather, per project. I know it can be done, just haven't figured it out yet.

What do others do to stay organized and efficient?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The trouble is that you are probably trying to use the wrong tool for the job.

Chances are that you need something that explicitly shows you what the equations are rather than hiding them

So many engineers use products like Matlab or Mathcad, and some use their free equivalents Octave and Smath Studio.

That's not to say that you can't do it in Excel, for that matter I've seen an FEA program written in Excel.

Cheers

Greg Locock

SIG:please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

Try ExcelCalcs as part of your approach.

[link ]
btn_liprofile_blue_80x15.gif" width="80" height="15" border="0" alt="View Clyde's profile on LinkedIn
[/url]

Chances are that you need something that explicitly shows you what the equations are rather than hiding them

So many engineers use products like Matlab or Mathcad, and some use their free equivalents Octave and Smath Studio.