Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Plate Element Stress - Mx/My vs Global Moment

Status
Not open for further replies.

stallion0002

Structural
Dec 15, 2008
US
I'm new to using STAAD for plate element design. I am trying to design a mat foundation using plate elements. In post-processing, there are Mx and My moments as well as 'Global Moment' as options for the stress types.

The Mx and My can be used to determine the appropriate rebar needed to resist the moments in thier respective directions for the plate element. But where does the gloabl moment come into play? At first I thought that it was a resultant moment, but the Mxy is the resultant moment leading to torsion in the plate element. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.

Don't know if it will help, but I am attaching screen clips for Mx, My, and Global Moment post-processing stresses.

Mx Local Moment

My Local Moment

Global Moment

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi!

Global moment should have the same answer with the local Mx and My. I think global moment is convenient when the plates are divided triangularly.

Actually, global moments are not quite the same as the Mx and My. This is because of the effect of the Mxy moment as you have mentioned.

Refer to the Wood-Armer method of combining plate moments together to get design moments. That will give true design moments in the Mx and My local directions.

See this thread for more detail:

Josh

PS Why am I (a RISA guy) answering questions on STAAD's forum?

Thanks for the information on the Wood-Armer method. That should help out a lot.

As for you question Josh, from a STAAD guy to a RISA guy, maybe this is the first step to program compatibility. LOL.

Thanks again.