Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Please help me 1

Nam123

Automotive
Oct 21, 2024
VN
Dear Sir/Madam,

I hope this message finds you well. I am currently a university student pursuing a degree in Control and Automation Engineering. I would like to seek advice from those who have at least had practical experience in this field, regarding a book titled "Electric Circuits," 10th edition, by James W. Nilsson and Susan Riedel. The contents of the book’s chapters are as follows:

1. Circuit Variables

2. Circuit Elements

3. Simple Resistive Circuits

4. Techniques of Circuit Analysis

5. The Operational Amplifier

6. Inductance, Capacitance, and Mutual Inductance

7. Response of First-Order RL and RC Circuits

8. Natural and Step Responses of RLC Circuits

9. Sinusoidal Steady-State Analysis

10. Sinusoidal Steady-State Power Calculations

11. Balanced Three-Phase Circuits

12. Introduction to the Laplace Transform

13. The Laplace Transform in Circuit Analysis

14. Introduction to Frequency Selective Circuits

15. Active Filter Circuits

16. Fourier Series

17. The Fourier Transform

18. Two-Point Circuits

My question is: Do I need to learn all the material from every chapter of this book in order to perform the tasks of a Control and Automation Engineer? Additionally, what steps should I take in my learning journey?

I sincerely appreciate any guidance or suggestions you can provide.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

As a minimum - yes, you should have a good grasp on all those topics.
You should also think about details on what electrical or mechanical processes or equipment the control and automation is supposed to handle - like electrical protection devices, compressors, fans, motion circuits (cranes, mills, drills, conveyors, propulsion, etc.), pumps, robotics, etc.

A short sample list from my own "library":
Stress Concentration Factors ~Peterson