Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Post-College Study Habits

Status
Not open for further replies.

curiousmechanical

Mechanical
Dec 14, 2006
US
Hello,

I am a 27 year old mechanical engineer and I have been working for about 5 years. My post-college personal life is now fairly stable (finally moved out of the parent’s house, etc.) and I am beginning to focus more attention on improving my engineering skills. I design steel refining machinery for an OEM, so I have been trying to brush up on strength of materials, heat transfer, fluid mechanics, etc. My approach has been to reread (or is some cases, read) my old college text books. I am enjoying my studies, but the pace is just too slow (hour here, hour there); there’s just not enough hours in the day. I did fairly well in college, but I just don’t think the material stuck. I feel that college life was so busy that I just had to get the work done; there was no time to sit there and ponder concepts or theories. So in the end, I feel a little inadequate with my technical skills and I am trying to improve them.

So, I am curious, how do you guys stay up to date and improve your technical skills? How much of your personal time do you dedicate to studying? What do you focus your attention on (core analytical skills, new software, etc.)? Do you get time to study or play with new software at work?

I can’t wait to read your responses.

Thanks guys!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you