Power Engineer's Career Path 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

paddymurphy

Electrical
Sep 30, 2011
US
Hello all,

I have used this forum numerous times in the past to get some very helpful input on engineering questions/issues that I've run into and must say that there are a lot of very knowledgeable members with a lot of experience behind them here. I have a career path question that I would be very interested to hear opinions on.

I am an engineer 7 years into the industry, working at a successful MEP firm in Boston. I have my PE and am LEED certified. I have a great deal of experience with arc flash, coordination, and short circuit studies and have designed stadiums, large labs, dorms and other commercial building spaces. I've done pretty much everything that you can do at an MEP firm, and they love me so there's potential for growth into project management and possibly higher status in the future.

My problem is that #1, my commute is extremely long and #2 it feels like the MEP industry can be a relentless, thankless job where you work 60 hours per week (my average this past year) and you get relatively little to show for it.

I have an opportunity to go work for an electrical firm that started out as a testing company 40 years ago, but has expanded into engineering design for medium and high voltage systems. They also have some master planning type work for commercial facilities, which I would be well suited for. Their engineering department is 12 years old. I would be able to develop my high/medium voltage design experience and be able to help them develop the business (create standards, train people on arc flash studies, develop designers, etc). And it is a 20 minute commute as opposed to my 1 1/2 hour to 2 hour commute now.