Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

precharge pump job on a high pressure water jetting machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

oscyes

Mechanical
Oct 29, 2013
CO
greetings engineers,

I am a mechanical engineer from a hidroblasting enterprise, I am new in this field so there are some things that I dont completely understand.

we are doing maintenance to a high pressure hydroblasting (20000 psi) and I had to buy a new precharge pump for connecting it with the main plunger high pressure pump.

the question is why is it necessary to have a precharge pump (centrifugal) which pumps from a big enough tank full of water to the high pressure plunger pump.

I mean I think it could work without the precharge pump and connect the high pressure pump directly to the tank, having the same speed at the nozzle end because it would depend only of the gpm delivered by the high pressure pump passing trough the nozzle hole, increasing the pressure at the high pressure pump discharge.

maybe I am Wrong thats why a need some illumination.

does the precharge pump gpm affects the final pressure at the discharge of the high pressure pump?

thanks in advance, I hope you all write your comments and expiriences because I am not as experienced as you

[laser]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Boosting the inlet pressure to the piston/plunger pump reduces the possibility of cavitation in the entering fluid stream. Without this, some type of pulsation dampener, or oversized inlet piping, would be necessary to reduce the low-pressure minimum of the pulsating inlet flow.

thank you so much I knew about the cavitation problem but the oversized inlet piping makes too much sense, it all depends of the GPM delivered by the high pressure pump.