Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Premature Wear of automotive components in regards to climate? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

EricYong94

Automotive
Nov 23, 2015
SG
Hi to all who took their time to read this thread. I used to be an apprentice at BMW M dealership and i had a question in which none of my seniors nor my superiors could give me an explanation as to how countries of different Climate could have make a difference in the wear and tear of automotive components Eg. (Bushings, Suspensions, Engine components and Brakes and Seals).

I am living in a Tropical country and I would like to compare it to a climate like Germany.

What I have noticed is that many continental vehicles regardless of make and model are replacing their components sooner than expected. Premature wear of suspension after travelling at 50,000 km in a period of 2 years. Such examples are the BMW E60 double wishbone suspension dampers and Volkswagen Jetta multi link suspension. Weatherstrip, seals and engine valve cover gaskets are also replaced after 3 years.

Though I was an apprentice, the technical knowledge and skills I have gained was as much as I hope to obtain. So if there is anyone that could answer this topic, it would be greatly appreciated. This answer would also be useful to explain to customers in future as well to clear their doubts of continental vehicle being inferior to japanese automotive makers.

Thanks

Eric

Replies continue below

Recommended for you