Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pressure vessel design reality check

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmer12

Mechanical
Nov 14, 2010
CA
Hi everyone,

I am looking for a quick reality check. I have some background in pressure vessel design, but we always used APV for calcs, and only worked up to 150 psi. Well I have had a friend ask me to design a one off filter unit for him, to handle 5000 psi, and was hoping to get a quick look over my wall thickness calcs.

I am using the formula t=p*Ro/(Stress allowable + 0.5p)

Using 5000 psi
3.5" OD
SS 316 with a UTS of 80,000psi
FOS 4

I am getting 0.389" wall thickness.

Can anyone comment on my calcs and let me know if I'm making sense?

Thanks,
Jim

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Jimbo....

When I use the rules for B31.1/B31.3 piping design, with an allowable stress of 20,000 (no corrosion/threading allowance etc) I get almost the same number.

Why are you not using the rules of ASME VIII ?

Your calulation result is correct. However, if you use pipe (based on 3.5" OD you used), you need to add 12.5% undertolerance.

If you use ASME Div 1, the forumla to use shall be the one for heavy wall. However that does not change the results much.

Thanks guys.