Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pro-Engineer compared to NX7.5 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeff97070

Mechanical
Feb 14, 2013
US
Hi,

Let the fun begin, I have 18 years experience using Pro-Engineer. The company I work for is wanting to switch to NX7.5.
I have had one week 40 hour class room training and now about 3 months of using NX and not 100% of the time.

My initial conclusion and it could just be my years of using Pro-Engineer but Pro-Engineer is a much more flexible
easier and faster tool to use than NX. To me NX has way to much information required to get the job done like it's drawing package is very cumbersome compared to Pro-Engineer.

Please share your thoughts and I’m being opened minded about this so maybe it’s a lack of using NX 24/7 for a good year or so.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

While I'll let real (and 'unbiased') users respond to your query, I will point out that NX 7.5 is two releases out-of-date.

John R. Baker, P.E.
Product 'Evangelist'
Product Engineering Software
Siemens PLM Software Inc.
Industry Sector
Cypress, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

To an Engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

Please enlighten us on how you can begin to make a comparison after 40 hours of training and 3 months of experience after using Pro/e for 18 years?

John Joyce
N.C. Programming Supervisor
Barnes Aerospace, Windsor CT
NX6 & NX7.5

I had 15 years on Ug from UG2-V3 to NX1 when the company I used to work for decided to switch us to Pro/2000i2. I am now using Wildfire4.