Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problems with Patran 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Serrat96

Automotive
May 12, 2020
ES
Hello guys, I'm a spanish student and I have a FEA subject on my automotive engineering degree. We have to make a quick PATRAN final project. Not very elaborated, but it has to be ok and show the results after calculating. I designed a Moto 3 chassis in Catia V5R21 (not very good but I did it in 10 minutes) only with lines.

My idea was to import my lines geometry from catia in .stp format and once in Patran give it 1D Beam properties. I did it, put the load cases and fix points, meshed etc but after calculating and trying to import the HDF5 data to see the results I always get the same error message. Someone knows which mistakes am I making?

I attach too the .db file in case someone would like to inspect it in detail.

Thank you all very much in advance.

a_ciakib.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The HDF5 is not being attached because it does not contain any results information. This is because your model will not run in linear statics in the current configuration. The elements at the locations indicated below are not connected. The head-stock of the frame is not connected at all to the frame (the 2 left most arrows), and the two triangulations are only connected at one end.

Screen_Shot_05-13-20_at_08.09_PM_ji8fek.png

You will see which parts of the structure are unconnected if you run a normal modes analysis and request at least 10 modes.

DG

Thank you very much for your help! Do you know how can I do to connect those points? I tried in Catia but it is impossible...

You have 2 possibilities:
1. Modify the geometry in Patran.