process simulations softwares 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

muzgul

Chemical
Dec 22, 2007
GB
Dear Friends
I am a new member of this forum. I have almost 6 years of experience in petrochemical plant operations and process improvement.
I have done an introductry course (3 days) for use of Aspenplus.
How can I improve my process simulation skills to join a design comapny in next 1 year.
Best Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Simulations do not make you a good engineer. You need tosee first hand how the real world works. You need to make models of existing plants and see how they compare, how to tune them up. No simulation can solve a compressor for example, you have to solve it by experience.

Get data from real plants and compare to models. Get articles about real situations and study tham.

I am a process Engineer with 4 years expereince. I spent a good proportion of that time working on Hysys and Aspen plus. You can only improve your skills if you are working on the pacakge. You learn the trick, problems and short cuts.

If you join a design company express to them that you would like to work on a simulation and ask who is the simulation expert. they shoudl be able to guide you through any snags you have.

Different projects apply simulation software in different contexts. you can design a process from a front end approach, you can do a detailed model for a detailed job... or you can build a model to troubleshoot a problem on an existing plant. in all the above you need to note that the model will give you numbers but they should be used as a compass along with your assumptions. some people believe that the answers are absolute and precise. aspen plus is a package that will sometimes give you different convergence points for a single simulation if you run it a number of times. its for that reason i prefer Hysys.

I hope this helped?

Thanks Friends
I dont know if it is the rite forum to get this kind of advice or not.