Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Programming PDMWorks through Excel 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjshahan

Mechanical
Jul 12, 2007
CA
Hi, I am new to eng-tips.com, I recently started working with PDM works, and i am trying to access a file in my vault with excel, i want to lock the file when i press an activeX button in excel, then edit the file, save it and unlock it. i added the pdm works library to VBA (edmInterface.dll) and
i was trying to acces my file.

i notices that there is a data type lEdmVault5 and lEdmVault5 but I am unsure how to link my pre existing vault to this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

rjshahan,

I am not sure what your point of view is in regards to PDMWorks, but I would never access files in the vault directly and work on them live. The vault is a place that stores and controls files. When a change has to be made to a file, then that file should be checked out of the vault, changed as required, and then checked back in(at the next revision level if required). If you are going to access a file live in the vault(which I do not think you can, or should) then you compromise the purpose of the system that you create when implementing PDMWorks.

Kevin

Take care & have fun!

Kevin
"Hell, there are no rules here -- we're trying to accomplish something." - Thomas A. Edison