Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pump efficiency e in hydraulic power equation (Q*P)/(600*e)

Status
Not open for further replies.

J.Cho

Mechanical
Aug 16, 2022
AU
Hi, I am a graduate-level mechanical engineer.

I am working out a hydraulic power using the equation below:
(Q * P) / (600 * e) = kW
Where, Q: Flow rate (L/min), P: Pressure (bar), e: Pump efficiency

I wonder if the pump efficiency 'e' is the total pump efficiency.
I believe there are a couple of types of pump efficiency, such as mechanical efficiency, volumetric efficiency, total efficiency, etc.

I would appreciate it if I could get your advice on which efficiency shall be used for this equation.

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What type of pump?

Recips can have a volumetric efficiency.
Centrifugals do not.

Einstein gave the same test to students every year. When asked why he would do something like that, "Because the answers had changed."

As far as I'm concerned there is only one efficiency to be considered when calculating power requirements at the pump input drive, this will be generic information supplied by the manufacturer or from test results.
If you require power input to the motor assuming its electric motor driven you also need to account for the motor efficiency.

It is a capital mistake to theorise before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts. (Sherlock Holmes - A Scandal in Bohemia.)

I can't calculate whether this is the same as I use but it seems about right.

This looks more like a centrifugal pump calculation to me, so you would simply use the efficiency given by the pump manufacturer which includes all efficicencies.