Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pump Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

msprain10

Mechanical
Sep 4, 2014
US
Hey Guys,

I have been a long time lurker, however I finally have the need to start a thread. I have used Eng-tips a lot throughout college and I have just recently graduated college with a degree in ME. I have been working at my first "big boy job" for over four months now. I was recently asked to research some pumps and their applications that we use them in. I was asked if there are any other positive displacement pumps that would be able to match the performance of our current pumps. I do not have any real applicable or working knowledge when it comes to pumps. After some research, it seems that the pumps we use are really the only ones capable of that performance...

Our current pumps:
IMO Three Screw Pumps

These pumps handle a 220/320 viscosity grade oil in a lube oil system. The oil is at lowest temp or ambient temp around 60 degrees due to tank pre-heater and a high temp of 135. I know we would be more worried about when the oil is at the low point when dealing with viscosity issues. The pumps need to be able to put out flows of 400 GPM while at 1500 PSI in spiked conditions.

Please feel free to blast me with any questions on details you feel I left out.

Thanks a bunch guys!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What is the problem with the existing pumps that would cause you to want to change them? We have comparable services that use this style of pump with good reliability.

Johnny Pellin

Johnny,