Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Pumping / Piping Circuit 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

moiz19670309

Mechanical
Jun 15, 2013
PK
We have a water reservoir on its roof we are planning to install two vertical turbine type pumps. Each with a flow of 160 m3/hr with ahead of 75 m. We are required to deliver at a demand point a flow from zero to 300 m3/hr with a head of 65 m. The scheme is shown in the attached picture. My questions are;
- Does the scheme seems sensible
- Does a Flow control valve as shown in scheme , works the way it is shown
- Any suggestions with respect to meeting the varying flow demand with constant pressure of 65m (0.6 MPa)

I have little knowledge of such type of pumping/ piping circuits.
Urgent response is highly appreciated.

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=cacb6ea8-cbce-42d8-bc1f-e0aa41dd36b1&file=Pumping_Circuit_1.png
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This really is pretty fundamental stuff.

Some questions:

Who controls the flow - I can only assume this is downstream your supply point?

What you probably need is a flow control on each pump sized to recycle the minimum continuous flow. Above that flow the pump doesn't need this return loop, but then what you will need is a pressure control valve at your connection point regulating the downstream pressure to 65m.

Your system would either waste large quantities of energy or could deliver in excess of the required head.

How you start / stop the second pump also needs to be considered so you need a flow meter on your system somewhere to bring the second unit on as you approach 160 m3/hr and turn it off as you fall below 160.

Maintaining equal flow in a parallel pump system is notoriously difficult as well so you need to specify your pumps well - check out some of the parallel pumping threads on this forum - basically ensure quite a steep head flow curve to the left of your duty point.

Remember - More details = better answers