Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

QA on site.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JFCPEng

Sep 21, 1999
AU
Hong Kong rail, Korean supermarket, Taiwan, Turkey, Greece, earthquakes and failures! Where are the quality assurance experts on concrete construction? I've spent many years on construction, and still the Architect, the builder, the workers cannot consistently reproduce high quality easily or with 99.999% confidence! It seems a pity to build every structure on concrete footings with poor QA during construction. How much does a petrochem pipe rack settle before the free spanning pipe is "stressed"? I'm studying "failures", or FMEA out of interest. Retempered concrete, stale concrete, incorrect delivery, poor placement methodology, inexperience, poor sampling, poor curing, excessive water, corrosion, alterred rebar placement, poor detailing or scheduling, green loading, incompatable tolerancing, etc.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You ask a question, I think you ask a question that has too many variable. From the cement supplier to concrete batcher to the finishers. Remember if everybody does their job correct dot the I and cross the T. the project is still in the hands of a grade school dropout, the concrete finisher.. A person who works for money, does not sign any reports and has no care about the finishes product. " Give me my money I'm out of here" But, if everybody did their job right it would put me out of business. ( the indepent testing lab) thank god for safety factor.