Question for any MEs working on PCB designs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack Henriques

Mechanical
May 21, 2020
GB
Hi

I work as a Product Manager in Altium's R&D department. I'm doing some background research for a new feature and would be grateful if anyone who works on PCB designs in MCAD software could tell me how they go about defining any areas (for example component keepout, component keepin, copper keepout etc) on a board? E.g. sketches on a surface in the model which then get included in an IDF export, or included in a 2D DXF... or extruded features on the board model, or just drawn directly into a 2D drawing?

Many thanks

Jack

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have tried a lot of different methods in the past but have settled on a DXF that the PCB designer imports onto a separate layer and uses as reference geometry. This is accompanied by a pdf that has notes on it explaining which holes are plated, which are not, what areas are component keep outs, via keep outs, routing keep outs, what the height restriction for component keep in areas are, etc.

I don't remember all the reasons we settled in to this route but I do remember that we have run into issues in the past where successive imports of IDF files would attempt to overwrite changes that the PCB designer had made if they weren't careful when importing. As mechanical engineers we only really need to control a lot of features during the initial transfer, after that things are usually limited to minor tweaks that are easier to make using the DXF reference than going the IDF route.

If component placement is critical we will provide a pin one mounting hole or a centroid location in the DXF depending on SMT vs through hole. This was much easier than making sure the origin, plane orientations, ref des, and name in the MCAD part all matched what the PCB tool used. I have gone that route in the past but it lost it's utility after the initial import into the PCB tool as well.