Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question on Passenger to Freight Conversion

Status
Not open for further replies.

sirbrandon

Mechanical
Jan 4, 2009
SG
I have some questions regarding these type of modification works. I am an aeronautical engineer by training, but not practicing. I know some aircraft design theory and stuff, but I do not have experience with what actually goes on in the shops. I would like to know more about what goes on when an aircraft is put on one such PTF program. What are some of the things that are done to the aircraft with regards to the main airframe structure? These kind of work, I would presume, would involve some CAD designing and probably analysis to determine the safety factors. Are maintenance engineers involve in such work or would these by the domain of aerospace/aeronautical engineers?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

of course there are structural changes ... an enlarged cargo door, an upgraded floor, a payload handling system, revised (cheapened, toughened) interior, but the "fun" stuff are lots of technical issues ...
flammablity and new firex systems
connection into the aircraft ICAS system (like for new door warnings, new fire alarms, ...)
maybe decompression (if you're opening up the cabin, or if you're dividing it)

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?

In terms of the airframe, naturally the largest changes occur around the main cargo door. But the structural additions / reinforcements, etc. can have and effect on the aircraft which is more far reaching.