Status
Not open for further replies.

Stewie_

Civil/Environmental
Aug 18, 2010
US
Hi, Dear All,

First of all, happy new year!

I have a general question on plan notes. My background is bridge design/load rating/rehab.
After 8 years of work, I feel much better now on structural modeling and analysis. However, I still do not feel very comfortable/confident when I have to come up with the plan notes on the structural plan sheets.
I asked senior engineers, and they told me to learn from the go-by plans. And the go-by plans, I should get from the DOT bid files.
My questions are:
1. Is there a general guidance/policy book for the plan notes? How do you come up with the plan notes?
2. If your background is from other fields (building, oil, offshore, industrial structure, and so on), please give some insight on this as well.
3. Similarly, how do you come up with the general notes?

Big Thanks,
Stewie

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Most of these notes come from past mistakes.

Plan notes: what information needs to be known about that plan specifically? Elevations, materials, special conditions, etc.

General notes: depends on whether or not you have a spec book. If you have a spec book, they can and should be fairly light. For many jobs, the spec book will probably get lost between the estimator's desk and the superintendent's trailer. So if it's needed to actually build the thing, put it in the general notes. If it's just guidance for a delegated designer or material selection, put it in the specs. Be careful about having it in both places - the one that costs more money is what they'll quote and the one that cost less money is what they'll build.

If you don't have a spec book, everything goes in the notes.

Yeah, in my head notes are for things you actually want done in a specific way. Specs are for things you need in case someone decides to do something stupid and you get into a fight about it.