Questions for Mechanical engineer technologist 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

RBX

Mechanical
Apr 9, 2004
CA
Any of you guys ME technologists?

Ive been an ME tech for about 6 years designing machines and i love it..but i would like to perfect myself and thinking of taking some extra course at Uni.(maybe some kinematics and some structural courses)

Just wondering if you guys ever felt the need to get a few extra engineering courses at Uni wich and which ones?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I graduated from an ME Technologist program before going to University, where I spent another 5 years earning my degree (there was a year of work sandwiched in those 5 years).

I think the courses you might want to take really depend on what sort of changes you want to make in your career.

My experience has been that many uni courses have prerequisites, presenting some significant barriers to entry. Also, my former university didn't admit people on a course by course basis.. you had to be in a full or part time degree program to take the courses. There were courses offered as part of the "continuing education" department, but most of these were focused around project management and not techie stuff like structures or kinematics. I'm positive that there are other universities out there that are not so restrictive in their admission policies, but it's still something to watch out for.

Also, you may not want to focus solely on university courses. Colleges have some great courses as well that can serve towards your professional development. Again, it all really depends on what you're looking for down the road.

I am not sure, but certain, that your MET classes will not go towards an engineering degree and this may also include the math and sci classes. So you may have to start at the beginning or close to it. Go for it though.

Tobalcane
"If you avoid failure, you also avoid success."