Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

R134 properties wanted

Status
Not open for further replies.

nektarios128

Mechanical
Aug 5, 2006
GR

I want to find a table of the following properties for R134 (saturated liquid) as a function of Temperature.

density [kg/m3]
heat capacity [J/kg K]
viscosity [m2/sec]
thermal conductivity [W / m K]
thermal diffusivity [m2/sec]
Prandtl number
volumetric thermal expansion [1/K]

Book , web , anything....

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

National Refrigerants has a site that will list many of these. Also ASHRAE Fundamentals Properties of refrigerants chapter

I'm not a real engineer, but I play one on T.V.
A.J. Gest, York Int./JCI

ASHRAE Fundamentals has R-134A in chapter 20. You will need to convert from english units. Not all of the properties you need are there. There are not thermal diffusivity and volumetric thermal expansion variables. You can calculate the Prandtl number from the other quantities given.

Srfish, nektarios128 asked for R 134, ie, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-ethane. Are its physicochemical properties equal to those of R 134A, ie, 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoro-ethane ?

Nektarios:

Insult2 is correct in referring you to the NIST site. Refrigerant R143A (Ethane, 1,1,1-Trifluoro) thermo data is available free of charge and in detailed, tabular format for downloading into an Excel spreadsheet.

However, you can't have everything you wish for. You will have to calculate your own values for

thermal diffusivity [m2/sec]
Prandtl number
volumetric thermal expansion [1/K]

But how can you justify a complaint?