Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Renaming the "Packaging" forum. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tunalover

Mechanical
Mar 28, 2002
US
Does anyone else concur that this forum should be renamed to "Electronic Packaging"?

Tunalover

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think there are way more packaging applications than just for electronics.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

I was the one who originally convinced the Tneg-Tips administrator to establish the forum and at that time is was called "Electronic Packaging". Sometime between then and now the word "Electronic" was removed and completely changed the intent. This is a very large segment of the mechanical engineering profession and I believe that it should be changed back.

Tunalover

I know exactly one engineer who has a real degree in Packaging Engineering, as in engineering product packaging for resistance to damage during shipping and storage. Sort of ironically, he works for a medical electronics company, but he's busy enough with product packaging issues that he doesn't do any 'electronic packaging' in the usual sense.

A quick scan of the forum found only one discussion specific to product packaging as distinct from electronics packaging. If there's a large congregation of such packaging engineers seeking help from their peers, they aren't doing it here. Maybe they're all as good as my friend is, and don't need much help. ;-)

I know a lot of engineers who engineer the structure of electronic products. None have a degree specific to Electronic Packaging, but most would claim that's what they do. A lot of them come here. A lot of them come to other E-T forums too, seeking help on thermal issues and producibility issues.