Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Replacing subfloor and blocking composite I-joists

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigRy

Structural
Jul 9, 2010
US
I'm a bridge engineer by profession, but I'm having a bit of an issue at my personal residence at the moment and I'm hoping to get a few questions answered.

We are having carpet replaced on our second floor, and in the process the installers are screwing down the 3/4" t&g ply subfloor to silence squeaks. For the most part, there weren't any squeaks to begin with, except in the landing/hallway area. I was able to get copies of the builders plans from my township (house was built in 1994), and in this one particular problem area the composite I-joists are 24" o-c. Everywhere else in the house the joists are 16" o-c. The joists in this area mostly only span about 8-10ft, with 1-2 spanning closer to 13ft. But obviously that's of little importance when it comes to subfloor strength.

It appears that current code allows 24" span for 3/4“ subfloor sheathing, if species group 1 ply or high performance OSB are used. God knows what was used to build this house, and it's pretty rough looking now. I'm not having luck finding a contractor on short notice, so it's looking like I'm going to need to tackle this myself. I'm thinking I'm going to need to replace some sheets and add blocking.

The framing plan calls out construction adhesive on the joist flange, though i haven't confirmed if it was actually used yet. Assuming it was, how difficult of a job can I expect to be dealing with here getting everything cleaned up without damaging the flange? I got a sawsall, cir saw, prybars, chisels, plus numerous other tools.