Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Request for Sample Calculation &Assistance with Phase Change Material System Design for Cold Sto

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neo Mech Eng

Mechanical
May 8, 2024
NP
Dear Engineering Forum Members,

I am currently working with a cold storage facility on implementing a Phase Change Material (PCM) system. As I am relatively new to this technology, I am seeking your valuable insights and guidance.

Project Details:
The project involves integrating a PCM system into an existing cold storage facility.
I have reviewed the forum's search function but haven't found specific sample PCM calculations.

Request for Assistance:
I would greatly appreciate assistance with the following aspects of PCM system design:
Calculation Methods: Could you please share or guide me towards resources that detail the calculation of critical parameters like:
Required PCM mass
PCM cooling capacity
PCM discharge time and cycles
Re-freeze time
Electricity consumption for PCM freezing

Provided Material Properties:
For reference, I have included the provided specifications of the chosen PCM:
Ambient temperature (Ta) = 32°C
Chilled storage temperature (Tc) ≈ 2°C
Wall U-value: 0.425 W/m²K
Latent heat of fusion (solid/liquid) (Lh_s/Lh_l): 213 kJ/kg / 271 kJ/kg
Specific heat (solid/liquid) (Cp_s/Cp_l): 3.86 kJ/kg.K / 5.96 kJ/kg.K
Melting temperature (Tm): 6°C
Freezing temperature (Ts): 5°C
Density (solid/liquid) (ρ_s/ρ_l): 727 kg/m³ / 763 kg/m³
Thermal conductivity (solid/liquid) (k_s/k_l): 0.13 W/mK / 0.12 W/mK

Missing Information and Assumptions:
I understand that some additional information is crucial for accurate calculations. Please feel free to suggest reasonable assumptions for the following missing parameters:
Wall areas
Room volume
Mass of stored goods and products
Cooling load
Heat gain rate

High Energy Savings and Additional Considerations: