Requesting Some Help with Design of Highly Irregular Flat Slab 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

HiggsBoston

Structural
Oct 3, 2021
AU
Hi to anyone reading this,

I am at a complete loss as I attempt to design a suspended flat slab of irregular shape with openings - attached as below. I plan to do some manual calculations before I perform an FEA analysis but I don't know where to even begin since I am a recent graduate and have never laid my hands on anything like this before. It was my understanding that perhaps dividing it into design strips should help the case but it seems that many people on this forum - more experienced than myself - seem to have a disdain for the said method in such instances. I welcome any suggestions or pointers that may usher me out of my situation. I would also like to know of any books or references that I could peruse to equip myself with the required knowledge.

I should note that the client is opposed to the idea of having any beams anywhere or using post-tensioning.

Thanks heaps!
sLAB_onwshe.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

For the manual calcs I would approach it as in sketch. Design in-slab beams (blue lines 1 to 4). Beams 1 to 3 important ones.
Then design simple panels (red) but not modelling the blue beams as support (except beams 5 & 6) with and without to check sensitivity.
When checking deflections, manually, remember to take the accumulative deflections.

A few pointers to a recent grad:
1. The stepped soffits to balconies - try not to take the soffit step to the external wall skin (if that's possible in yr location), stepped v-joints look messy on elevation.
2. On your FE model, check that the deflections at the red circle are not excessive (elastic multiplied by around 4 for LT deflections). Facades sensitive to this differential movement.
3. The 50mm weather step at balconies is very little, strongly consider increasing so that waterproofing and thresholds can be dealt with properly.