Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

resume formats

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffcivil2

Civil/Environmental
Feb 18, 2008
US
Do you as employers look positively on internet syle resumes/links instead of attached word documents? I had a clever idea for a resume:

Since I'm a civil engineer and our works are more recognizable from the sky, I was thinking of creating first a personal website with basic employment history but also showing showing aerial photography of projects I've worked on.

This can be answered by anyone the question of isn't it best to just show off your work than to have to rely on vague wording?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yeah, of course. I put my phone#, email, and website. As long as it is not a myspace website, I think it will look very professional.

Never, but never question engineer's judgement

I mean, give them the document format with the website link. Dont just send them a link. You want to personalized it anyway (i.e. Objective).

Never, but never question engineer's judgement

I like the idea of a website in addition to a resume. It's still largely a paper-based world. (The music world is going toward electronic press kits, but not so far the office world.)

Hg

Eng-Tips policies: faq731-376

Most hiring managers only have time to scan and highlight half a printed page. If your paper resume doesn't get their attention, a website won't help.

I've seen resumes with thumbnails in the Work Experience sections. I found that interesting, and gave a lot of ammunition for asking more in-depth questions.

"Art without engineering is dreaming; Engineering without art is calculating."

Have you read faq731-376 to make the be