Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Rigidity of pile cap 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RK777

Structural
Jan 16, 2020
CA
Dear altruists, to analyse the pile group (attached), should the pile cap be considered rigid or not? The shear span to depth ratio is more than 2 (2.6). However, it's very common to consider pile cap rigid, and I guess L-pile can not assign a flexible pile cap (I'm a structural designer). I'm trying to understand if the assumption of rigid pile cap is valid here or not? Does it only depend on the shear span to depth ratio or there are other methods of considering rigidity of pile cap? FYI, There is a 500 mm thick hollow column sitting on the pile cap and the cap is 2700 mm thick. There could be other arrangements of piles, but let's assume due to project constraints we can't change any of the dimensions in the cap and the pile locations. On a side note, would you design shear reinforcement in the cap under the hollow column portion when the column is subjected to significant lateral force that causes moment demand? Any suggestion would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=10653b82-191e-418e-8984-730b1f714450&file=Capture.PNG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Honestly, it probably doesn't make much difference as far as the force in the piles go. If this cap isn't 100% rigid, it's close.

Now, I think the rigid vs flexible question can make some difference in the shear and moment demand on the concrete cap. But, my guess, is it won't really affect the reinforcement chosen.

Thanks Josh. If we go with rigid cap, won't we be missing the demand on top of the pile due to rotation (if it was flexible)?

How deep is your embedment into the cap? That will have a bigger impact on rotation than the cap itself.