Rolling Loads - Machinery Skates

Status
Not open for further replies.

kartracer087

Electrical
Apr 18, 2020
US
Hello,

So I am not a structural engineer but I know enough to be dangerous I suppose and I had to take some structural engineering courses in my undergrad.

Anyways, say that I have a load that weighs 35,000lbs and it is to be placed onto (4) machinery skates that have rollers. Those machinery skates will be placed on top of timbers that are wider than the skate themselves. The timbers rest on a continuous concrete floor (i.e. the bottom of the timbers is continuously supported) and are only used to help elevate the load up to be flush with another concrete pad at the end of the skate's "route".

Here's where it gets interesting and I think I understand:

Each machinery skate theoretically divides the total load by 4, so that means I have a load of 8,750lb on each skate. But each skate has rollers on it. If the skate has 2 rollers evenly positioned is it fair to say that in effect this creates (2) separate point loads? So each point load is roughly 4,375 lbs. And the issue here seems like this is sort of like a really short column loading issue with the wood, correct? Is it safe to say that the 2 point loads if even can be thought of as the original 8,750lb load distributed over a face area that is equivalent to a square with the outer edges bound by the point of contacts of the skates. I.E. if the skates are 8 inches wide and spaced 8" apart, then I have a stress area in the wood of 64 square inches which I can't exceed, so for the timber lets say crushing stress is 1,000 lb/in2. In this case my calculated local stress at each skate is 8,750lb / (64in2) = 137 psi which is acceptable given the compressive strength of the timbers.