Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Romanian MEng. Considering switching to Aerospace, in France.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndresXML

Automotive
Mar 26, 2022
DE
I am a mechanical engineer (BEng) with about 6 years of experience in CAD design, sheet metal, hydraulics, structure integration, mostly on heavy machinery (Caterpillar mining trucks) and automotive (minibuses, sorry, can't give the name of the company).

I speak French at an A2 - B1 level, Spanish B1, and fluent (negotiation level) English. I've got design experience in Solidworks, PTC Creo, stress simulations in Ansys Workbench and Hypermesh, and have been working with various PLM software (Including Siemens Teamcenter). I am also a beginner in Python and R.

Right now, the engineering salaries in Romania aren't too bright. I am not starving, but there is little to no opportunity to save money after paying rent, utilities, food, car gas. Haven't been able to afford a vacation in quite a while. Sadly, it doesn't seem that changing just the city will improve my odds. Engineering design salaries are low in Romania (roughly 700-900 Euros after tax for my level of experience).

I am thinking about moving out for a better life, more money, and most importantly, better opportunities in a large company. I am starving to work my ass off in R&D, be it design, but ideally, simulation. I want to do this in about a year from now.

I was thinking about Airbus. They have a ton of open positions that I think I would be a good fit for. If anyone here could enlighten some of my concerns/questions.

1. I have one year to prepare. What should I focus on?