Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Rushton impeller power number question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joeppeoj

Bioengineer
Apr 1, 2022
NL
I am a biotech process engineer, working on a down scale model of our large scale process.
In the large scale process we are using a 1000L reactor with 3 rushton impellers. We will use a small scale process of 2 L with 2 rushton impellers.
To accurately calculate and justify the stirring speed we need to use in our small scale reactor I need the power number for both rushton impellers (for which I can find quite some information online) And a power number correction factor (you cannot just add up power numbers) does anyone have any information regarding power number correction factors for rushton impellers?

I hope I am in the right forum to ask this, if not, please inform me.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What parameter is important to the process? Shear rate? Tank turnovers/min? Solids suspension? Nothing in agitation scales equally, so first identify what the key parameter is.

My first thought in down-scaling such a process is to reduce the number of impellers to keep the volume per impeller similar. Then I would scale down impeller diameter. I think one impeller in the two liter reactor would be a better choice.

Thanks Pierreick, this is good information. I haven't found anything on power number correction factor yet.

TiCl4 You're right. I'm trying to scale to keep the same mixing time.

Compositepro, there are calculations to calculate the optimal # of impellers depending on liquid hight and volume. I cannot change the impellers, the only thing I can really vary is the stirring speed.