Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Service Factor 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

friend81

Mechanical
Jul 27, 2006
BR
Hi Friends! i am new to this Eng.Forum.

I am working with a company manufacturing submersible pumps & i would like to know what is the difference in the electrical design between a motor with Service Factor & without Service factor, and also mostly service factor is declared for 60Hz motors & not in 50Hz?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Service Factor (SF) is a concept uniquie to NEMA design motors and is defined as a percentage by which the motor can withstand an increased load while still maintaining rated torque and speed within an accepted tolerance, even though current is expected to rise. Some believe this to be a short time rating, however you will never find an AMOUNT of time discussed, mostly because it is nebulous. What is said is that when using a motor's SF, an increased temperature rise is to be expected and therefore the motor life will not be the same as if the SF was not used. Many OEMs choose to use SF as if it represented an increased HP at the shaft, mostly in order to avoid stepping up to the next size motor if their application calls for just a little more than a standard motor design allows. Those OEMs are generally not concerned that the motor will last 5 years instead of 20 years, because either way it is out of their warranty by the time it fails.

the reason why you don't see SF listed for 50Hz motors is because IEC, the governing rules for the rest of the world, make no such claim of a motor being rated for anything other than what it says it is. So in effect, all IEC motors are 1.0SF.

http:/Eng-Tips: Help for your job, not for your homework Read faq731-376 [pirate]