Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Signing NXOpen application.

Befuddled

Aerospace
Jan 9, 2008
GB
Hi all,

Firstly I am not a formal code author (enthusiastic amateur), so please be gentle!!!

I have been creating snippets of code via NX Journals for several years (mostly to perform repetitive tasks in NX).

Recently I have started to compile my code into dll's as i think its a bit more professional as I have been asked to share some of my snippets, and I now have the situation that I need to call one snippet from another and I think it only works if the journal is compiled?. To do this compiling, I don't have VB studio, so do it a long hand way via the command prompt:-

C:\WINDOWS\system32>C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\vbc /libpath:"C:\Program Files\NX\1973\NXBIN\managed" /t:library /r:NXOpen.dll /r:NXOpen.Utilities.dll /r:NXOpen.UF.dll /r:NXOpenUI.dll MY_VB_CODE_HERE.vb

This has worked fine (noting my install of NX is not in the usual installed location!!!).

I have written a new bit of code, which calls a child dll (this seems to work) but when I look at the syslog I can see the log has an entry about:-
verifying for NXOpen signature, and that the it has failed verification 'NXOpen.Utilities.MissingResourceException: Assembly has not been compiled with an NX resource bundle' NXOpen.Utilities.NeedDOTNETAuthorLicenseException: Invalid NX signature found

Noting that I don't really know what a signature is (a simple explanation would be welcome please), I have bluffed my way to the 'signDotNet.exe' utility. When I run this I get this error:-
Checking for the presence of DotNet Author License
Problem found with NX resource in assembly C:\temp\child.dll
Assembly has not been compiled with an NX resource bundle

I am a little confused as the code is certainly running and doing what I expect (to test it I get the called dll to display a msgbox 'hello world').