Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

slab on grade and saw cuts

Status
Not open for further replies.

purdue87

Mechanical
Dec 24, 2007
US
i am a concrete contractor and have been asked to form and pour a 6" slab on grade for a municipal project where there will be dumpsters (debris and green waste) sitting on the slab. about 1,500sqft. the slab is designed with a 4000psi mix.

the question is: the slab has been designed with a mat of #4 rebar AND saw cuts. i don't think i have ever seen a slab with a mat of rebar that is also saw cut. is this normal? thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would have thought that saw cuts would be fine provided that the reinforcement is stopped either side of the saw cut. The saw cut is obviously there for stress relief and will generate a crack through the entire depth of the section. If reinforcement passes through the cut area then I would expect to see a protective sealant to prevent water and detritus entering the crack and corroding the reinforcement.

It is indeed normal to saw cut slabs on grade, regardless of the amount of reinforcement, unless the slabs are posttensioned.

The saw cuts are an attempt to force the restraint shrinkage cracking to occur in a straight line rather than randomly.

Having said that, your question is a particularly good one for a slab being used as you describe. There will be a lot of debris on the slabs, and this dirt, grit, whatever, is bound to find its way into the joints unless the joints are well sealed and maintained, which in itself is unlikely.