Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

soil heat transfer/temperature change air drain

Status
Not open for further replies.

xiloergos

Civil/Environmental
Mar 3, 2024
US
Hello everyone. I'm new here. Really cool website. I'm just a carpenter, don't ask too much of me! = )

I'm designing a geothermal system for a possible greenhouse I'll build, but I don't have much money, so I need to make calculations very precisely.

I find myself in need of help, to figure out what the temperature change in air flowing through a corrugated pipe underground would be.

I have this information:

Air: Air will be entering the pipe at 10 degrees Fahrenheit.
Pipe: High density Polyethylene corrugated (solid - without any piercing or knifing) with a thermal conductivity coefficient of 0.5 W/m^K (temperature of the pipe is negligible - meaning it's not insulated or heated)
Surface area of the pipe: The pipe is 100' long with a diameter of 4" (so I believe the surface area is 2.777778 square feet - contact with the ground surrounding it)
Flow: The air is moved by a 270 CFM fan (so I believe traveling at 270 cubic feet per minute)
Surface: The surface surrounding the pipe is soil (I'm going to assume the soil will have a thermal conductivity coefficient of 1.5 W/m^K) and the temperature of the soil is permanently 45 degrees Fahrenheit.
greenhouse_odkpje.jpg

I have attached a very simple diagram with most of this information.

I need to know at what temperature will the air come out?

I really tried to use my head for this, and even tried the chatgpt thingy online, but I think I need the help of real engineers!

Thank you in advance!

Xilo

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello again! Thanks you so much for replying so fast! And for the handy link! I need more formulas I think.

So I've been doing some math. This is what I've produced so far:

Φ = Q/A = = (Ti-To)/((Do/2λ)*ln(Do/Di))

Once I inserted my numbers: