Feb 18, 2005
US
yahoo News, includes a movie

ice_screenshot_20160901-172552_om7oxi.png

Keith Cress
kcress -

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

At least this has nothing to do with the reuse of a returned booster. This is 'just' a normal rocket science failure. If their first reuse booster had exploded, then the repercussions might have derailed that aspect of their future plans.

Even still, the launch complex will be closed for months...

From talking with some Space-X people a year or so ago, there were comments made that Musk was not very happy with the reliability of valves purchased from various manufacturers out there and while I have no direct knowledge of the current situation, the rumor at the time was that he was considering cutting-out the middleman and producing them himself as a way of getting better control of the quality. After all, when Space-X had the chance to purchase 3rd party rocket engines Musk opted to have them designed and built in-house.

John R. Baker, P.E. (ret)
EX-Product 'Evangelist'
Irvine, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

The secret of life is not finding someone to live with
It's finding someone you can't live without

Have you seen that the Chinese are going to start making jet engines for passenger planes?

Funny that we have been building rocket engines since the 60's, and we can't just follow an older engine design?

But this looked like it was above the engines, or maybe the last stage.

Why do a static firing of the main (1st stage) with a second stage loaded? My son told me (dunno if true) that the payload spacecraft had been loaded as well...again why risk the payload for a static firing test? And why load propellants in 2nd stage?

Sheesh, risk management must not be a subject at SpaceX.