Spacing a disc rotor so it sits farther away from hub than originally. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gonzowerke

Automotive
Nov 15, 2011
US
Greetings,

A little background first...Honda made two different CB750/4 models between '76 and '78, the CB750K and the CB750F. The K had spoked wheels, single front disc, drum rear brake. The F had Aluminum mag wheels, twin front discs, and rear disc.

I have been riding a K for 20 years now, with the front forks, brakes, and rim from an F model.
I want to go to a spoked rim with dual discs up front, because I am tired of the mis-matched Frankenbike look, but I would like to retain the braking performance of twin discs.

My intention is to take the stock K front wheel, and an additional disc I bought, and make them work with the F forks and brakes. it is a straight up easy-as-pie bolt on conversion, as the axle and spacing are the same for both models, except for the brakes. The F rotors are dished in their centers to put the disc face closer to the fork stanchions, and further from the hub. Thankfully the disc thickness and diameter are the same as well. Too bad the F discs are 5 bolt, and the K ones are 6, or I wouldn't be having this problem. I want to move the K discs out so they meet up with the F calipers and Forks I already have.

My question is thus;
When fabricating a spacer to sit between the disc and the hub, would it be stronger(and safer) to make a single plate with the same diameter and bolt pattern as the K discs, just the thickness I need, or can I just shim each individual bolt with either washers or bushings? There are no lateral forces applied to the discs that I know of, just rotational, as they are not of a floating design, the calipers float on pins like an automobiles.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Chris

Replies continue below

Recommended for you