Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Specification/information for Black Oxide finish callout

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwinnyGG

Mechanical
Jan 22, 2016
US
One of my ongoing tasks is reviewing, and in many cases making large changes to, my company's standard Scope of Requirements and Engineering Standards documents.

They were in a sorry, neglected state when I started almost a year ago, but are slow approaching a state where they might become useful again.

I'm in the midst of the specification set for coatings, and have had no problem specifying platings, paint, and anodizing all of which I have a lot of experience with.

However, I need to develop an internal standard callout (and a standard drawing note to match) for black oxide finish on machined and fabricated steel parts.

The existing callout from the last version of this document reads:

6.4.1: Black Oxide coatings on Ferrous Components​

6.4.1.a When 'Black Oxide' is specified for machined or fabricated components comprised of ferrous base material, the supplied coating shall conform to MIL-13924​

Two thoughts here. One, I'm used to callouts with more detailed information; the similar section for anodized aluminum parts, for example, reads:

6.4.7.a If 'Anodize XXXXXXX' is specified for machined or fabricated components made from aluminum alloys, supplied coatings shall conform to MIL-A-8625, Type II, Class 2, minimum thickness 0.8 mil unless otherwise specified. Callouts which require Anodize finishes but do not specify color shall be returned for clarification and correction. Clear anodize must be specified directly.