Starting Out 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichGeoffroy

Materials
Apr 30, 2004
US
In a recent e-mail, a subscriber posed the following question:

I am new to the eng-tips.com website and ran across your postings regarding the startup of a consulting engineering practice. Thanks for the information. I am particularly interested in obtaining more information on startup and operating costs. Your posting titled “Budget for Success” provides a thorough list of cost considerations, but I am interested in the estimating the actual dollar amounts. Three partners and myself are seriously considering starting up a mechanical/electrical consulting practice and we have developed a preliminary financial plan, but are uncertain on some of the costs. The following provides an idea of our proposed rate of growth.

Start Up: 4 Principals, 1 CAD
Sixth Months: 4 Principals, 1 Engr, 1 CAD, 0.5 Marketing/Admin
1 Year: 4 Principals, 2 Engr, 1 CAD, 1 Marketing/Admin
1.5 Year: 4 Principals, 3 Engr, 1 CAD, 1 Marketing/Admin
2 Year: 4 Principals, 3 Engr, 1.5 CAD, 1 Marketing/Admin
3 Year: 4 Principals, 5 Engr, 2 CAD, 1 Marketing/Admin

Do you know of a good resource for startup and operating cost data?

There is no magic wand that will make your life easy in regard to establishing your initial business plan. Your potential competitors are probably your best source of information on costs --- if you think one is willing to share it with you. Try an established consulting engineer who may be in the position to enjoy being in a mentoring situation. Many entrepreneurs enjoyed the “start-up” period rather than just “running the office”. If you find one, he or she may like “reliving” the start-up experience, as well as providing you with excellent advice.